Kindergarten

Kindergarten

For all the happy excitement, starting kindergarten also triggers feelings of loss, fear and insecurity – not only for the child, but for parents, too. Many a mum and dad find it difficult to be separated from their child, entrusting their little boy or girl to the care of strangers. There may be tears, though they usually dry quickly as soon as you walk out of view. Try out what feels best for you. Create your own ritual. Some parents like to play with their child for a while before leaving, others give their baby a peck on the cheek. Whatever you do, never leave your child without saying good-bye.

Once your child has settled into kindergarten, he or she has taken a big step towards independence. This «growth» will soon become apparent. Your child will proudly demonstrate new skills, sing songs and tell stories you have never heard before. Let your «grown-up» kindergarten kid teach you!

To prepare for the process of letting go, why not enroll your child in a playgroup? This is an ideal environment for children to explore new things and meet children of their own age. In playgroups, up to ten children aged three and older come together, play games and develop their personalities and social skills, such as:

•building a relationship with a newcaregiver (letting go)

•experiencing group activities

•learning to fend for oneself

•developing self-confidence

•developing intellectual and motorskills

•discovering new material and games

Many municipalities provide early language training in kindergarten or even in playgroup – for immigrants in particular, but by no means only for them. Children participate in weekly classes where they develop their linguistic abilities in a playful way. The purpose is to help non-German-speaking children make friends with German speakers and pave the way for a smooth transition into primary school. Contact your local council (Gemeinde) for more information on early intervention programs.

Mandatory Promotion of German one year before Kindergarten in Basel-Stadt

The Canton of Basel-Stadt supports the acquisition of German by children in order to ensure a smooth transition into primary school. Children who barely speak German have to attend a playgroup or other German-speaking institutions a year before entering Kindergarten. There children are taught German in a playful way at least two half days per week.

Switzerland

Addresses and links

  • Information by the Swiss authorities on kindergarten and pre-school*: www.ch.ch

  • The Familienwegweiser Pro Familia also informs about kindergarten: www.profamilia.ch

_____

* = Services explicitly offered also in other languages than German.

Aargau

Addresses and links

  • Kindergarten in the Canton of Aargau: www.ag.ch

Basel-Landschaft

Addresses and links

Basel-Stadt

Addresses and links

Solothurn

Addresses and links

  • Kindergarten in the Canton of Solothurn: www.so.ch

Book Recommendations

„Mein Kindergarten (Wieso? Weshalb? Warum? Junior)“

by Doris Rübel, Ravensburger Buchverlag, 2008.

„Mein erster Tag im Kindergarten“

by Frauke Nahrgang and Marlis Scharff-Kniemeyer, Ravensburger Buchverlag, 2013

„Endlich im Kindergarten“

by Nina Dullek, Coppenrath Verlag,  2011.

Kindergarten

Kindergarten

Bei aller Vorfreude ist der Eintritt in den Kindergarten auch mit starken Gefühlen von Verlust, Angst und Unsicherheit verbunden. Wahrscheinlich regen sich diese Gefühle nicht nur bei Ihrem Kind, sondern auch bei Ihnen. Nicht wenigen Eltern fällt es schwer, sich einige Stunden von ihrem Kind zu trennen, es in eine fremde Obhut zu geben, von jemand anderem erziehen zu lassen. Beim Abschied gibt es oft noch Tränen. Meistens sind diese bald versiegt, wenn Sie aus dem Blickfeld Ihres Kindes verschwunden sind. Der Abschied fällt eventuell immer noch schwer.

Schaffen Sie am besten ein Ritual. Manche Eltern spielen noch kurz mit ihrem Kind, andere verabschieden sich schnell mit einem Abschiedskuss. Probieren Sie aus, was am besten bei Ihrem Kind ankommt. Eines sollten Sie jedoch nie tun: ohne Verabschiedung gehen.

Hat sich Ihr Kind im Kindergarten eingewöhnt, ist es einen grossen Schritt auf dem Weg zur Selbständigkeit vorangekommen. Sie werden schnell merken, wie es daran «gewachsen» ist. Es wird stolz seine neuen Fähigkeiten demonstrieren, es wird Lieder singen und Geschichten erzählen, die Sie nicht kennen. Aber die können Sie sich ja von Ihrem «grossen» Kindergartenkind beibringen lassen!

Die sprachliche Frühförderung im Kindergarten oder schon in der Spielgruppe – insbesondere, aber nicht nur für Migrantenkinder – wird bereits in einigen Gemeinden angeboten. Dabei wird einmal wöchentlich auf einen sprachstützenden, spielerisch gestalteten Unterricht geachtet. Er soll den fremdsprachigen Kindern den Zugang zu den deutschsprachigen erleichtern – und später die Eingliederung in die Primarschule.

Obligatorische Deutschförderung im Jahr vor dem Kindergarteneintritt in Basel-Stadt

Damit jedes Kind möglichst gut in seine Schulzeit starten kann, fördert der Kanton das Deutschlernen vor dem Kindergarten. Kinder, die kaum oder kein Deutsch sprechen, müssen im Jahr vor dem Kindergarten eine Spielgruppe oder eine andere deutschsprachige Institution besuchen. An mindestens zwei halben Tagen pro Woche lernen sie dort spielerisch Deutsch.

Schweiz

Adressen und Links

  • Informationen zu Kindergarten und Schuleintritt *www.ch.ch

  • Der Familienwegweiser von Pro Familia informiert auch zu Kindergarten: www.profamilia.ch

_____

* = Angebote, welche neben Deutsch auch weitere Sprachen abdecken.

Aargau

Adressen und Links

Basel-Landschaft

Adressen und Links

Basel-Stadt

Adressen und Links

Solothurn

Adressen und Links

Literaturtipps

Es gibt eine Vielzahl von tollen Kinderbüchern, um ihren Kindern den Eintritt in den Kindergarten näher zu bringen. Hier eine kleine Auswahl: 

„Mein Kindergarten ( Wieso? Weshalb? Warum? Junior)“

von Doris Rübel, Ravensburger Buchverlag, 2008.

„Mein erster Tag im Kindergarten“

von Frauke Nahrgang und Marlis Scharff-Kniemeyer, Ravensburger Buchverlag, 2013.

„Endlich im Kindergarten“

von Nina Dullek, Coppenrath Verlag,  2011.